From a Met Life Pamphlet ca. 1946

From a Met Life Pamphlet ca. 1946

I know it’s hard to think about the bounty of the summer when it’s slushy and cold, but it’s time to sign up for CSAs if that’s your thing.

Community Supported Agriculture is a great way to get fresh vegetables (and eggs, cheese, and meat in some places) straight from the source.

We’re members of the East Williamsburg CSA which picks up on Skillman Ave, at the red-shed community garden. Ben and Miriam our farmers, run a farm called Hearty Roots.

In our ‘hood there’s also the Greenpoint-Williamsburg CSA.

If you want to find a CSA in your neighborhood check out Just Food.

I have been a CSA member in one place or another for 12 years. It is always great to get the freshest produce, direct from the source. Sometimes it can be hard not knowing exactly what you’re going to get, but I think over time this has really helped shape the way I cook. I look to recipes for inspiration, but rarely do I cook by the word. I try to use whatever is fresh or can what I can’t use to open later (like the pickled turnips and carrots that I’m going to open tonight)

This year we’re hoping to plan a couple of CSA canning parties where we get together all the members who are interested and we all put our cabbage together and make a big batch of saurkraut, and then can it all to save for the dark days.

Any other ideas on what we can pool together and can?